Antisocial Media

 

image

 

I hate social media sometimes, I mean I realize that this blog is in fact a social media sight, but I cant stand how fake and dishonest some people can be when it comes to their statuses and stuff. Why can’t people be honest? Cause we all care to much about what other people think!

Have you read a post or status update on facebook or twitter and knew that that post was put there for no other reason than to cause drama? That is all social media is is a huge maelstrom of drama. I know a woman who is always posting on Facebook and twitter about how happy she and her man are and how great her life is despite all real life evidence to the contrary. Why does she do this?

Because social media is like a competition for her, She cares so much about what other people think of her and her life that she uses social media like its a contest to see who can make their life seem most like an episode of the Cosby show. In reality Life doesn’t work like that. Life is messy and unpredictable. I mean if everyone were as happy as the pretended to be on Facebook then the world would look like a completely different place.

Its one thing to try and keep things upbeat when your posting but its another to completely lie and act as if your living in an episode of Full House or something.  I have never been someone who felt the need to keep up appearances, and I don’t think I would fare well if I tried. My heart is on my sleeve and what I’m feeling I have never been good at hiding.  I think that’s why it irks me sometimes how fake people can be.  I mean I know a guy that posted pics of this nice care on Facebook and he told everyone that he had bought it and it turns out it was a rental!  Why do people feel the need to try and impress people on social mediaL?

If you were really as happy as you try to perpetrate on Facebook then you would be out living your life rather than spending all that time trying to convince the world that your happy. Life is not a competition so lets all keep it real and stop with the nonsense.

“Share your weaknesses. Share your hard moments. Share your real side. It’ll either scare away every fake person in your life or it will inspire them to finally let go of that mirage called “perfection,” which will open the doors to the most important relationships you’ll ever be a part of.”
― Dan Pearce, Single Dad Laughing

 

4 thoughts on “Antisocial Media

Leave a Reply

